< Music by the Sea
04.04.2011 10:01 Age: 7 yrs

Avanti! XXVI Summer Sounds – Sammanträffanden – Encounters

Artistic planning by Pekka Kuusisto.

Photo: Sonja Werner

The title chosen for Avanti´s Summer Sounds 2011 is Sammanträffanden – Encounters. Audiences can thus expect both random and calculated encounters in a programme created by violinist Pekka Kuusisto.

As his theme composers Pekka has invited along Maja Ratkje from Norway and Nico Muhly from America, the collision of whose idioms will give Summer Sounds an exciting electric charge. “Nico’s music is endearing, crisp, sharp-witted and cultured, but nevertheless freely contrived, while Maja’s does not hesitate to rub the listener up the wrong way, gripping her audience with a frightening intensity.”

Programme and further information: